• Log In
  • Contact Us

About Us

The Beginning

The Medical College of Wisconsin, Milwaukee was the first Emergency Ultrasound Fellowship training site. In the early 1990s, James Mateer MD trained the first three fellows in what is now termed Clinical Ultrasound: Beth Thomas, MD, Verena Valley, MD, and Mary Beth Phelan, MD. The number of clinical ultrasound fellowship programs exponentially grew to over 100 sites across North America.

SCUF and EUSFellowships

The Society for Clinical Ultrasound Fellowships (SCUF) started as EUSFellowships in 2008. The intention: To support the transparency and quality in fellowships in emergency medicine focusing on clinician performed ultrasound. The organization sought to provide coordination and structure and allow applicants have an opportunity to directly compare program offerings using information posted by each fellowship. Until 2017, EUSFellowships.com provided a standardized electronic application for Emergency Ultrasound Fellowships.

As a non-profit organization SCUF balances the needs of the fellowship community including fellowship programs, fellows and applicants. The mission: To grow the Clinician Performed Ultrasound community, to support collaboration and to foster advanced training through one and two year fellowships.

SCUF Board of Directors


Current: Rob Huang, MD
Elect: Lindsay Taylor, MD
Nova Panebianco, MD MPH (2021)
Rachel Liu, BAO MBBCh FACEP FAIUM (2020)
Resa Lewiss, MD (2019)
John Bailitz, MD (2018)
Romolo Gaspari, MD (2014-2017)


Current: Kristin Dwyer, MD
Elect: Ryan Tucker, MD
Past: Josie Acuña, MD
Emeritus Past: Pat Hunt, MD MBA FACEP


Current: Petra Duran-Gehring, MD
Elect: Andrew Liteplo, MD
Past: Meera Muruganandan, MD

Representative Councilors

ACEP Chair: Arun Nagdev, MD
ACEP Past Chair: Penelope Chun Lema, MD
SAEM AEUS Chair: Chris Thom MD RDMS
SAEM AEUS Past Chair: Lindsay Taylor, MD
AAEM Chair: Alli Zanaboni, MD
AAEM Past Chair: Melissa Myers, MD
P2 President: David Teng, MD
P2 Past President:
P2 Incoming President:


Di Coneybeare, MD MHPE
Nicole Klekowski, MD
Resa Lewiss, MD
Hamid Shokoohi, MD MPH

Subcommittee Chairs

Match Development

Jeremy Boyd, MD
Arthur Au, MD

Fellowship Development & Accreditation

Sara Damewood, MD
Nova Panebianco, MD MPH

Annual Meeting

2023: David MacKenzie, MD
2022: Sara Damewood, MD
2019: Srikar Adhikari, MD MS
2019: Elaine Situ-LaCasse, MD
2018: Creagh Boulger, MD